ohhbetty

About time I grew up… now where to start…

Christmas/Birthday February 19, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — Ooh Betty @ 22:58

I, along with my mother are among the lucky people to have their birthday’s at Christmas.

 

Image

 

Christmas Day the first stop for my brothers and I was our Dad’s house. Popped in had a cuppa exchanged gifts. Then off to the mammies. First things first she popped the kettle on (this happens a lot through out the day) and started the breakfast. We are a family who do not to Christmas dinner early. Dinner is had at dinner time e.g. 6pm or later. So a full Irish at 12 is fine! Full Irish is not something I cared for that day so scone it was!

 

ImageImage

 

The day panned out as normal. The dog sat in the corner and ignored us for most of the day, unless she was hungry or had a sudden burst of energy and wanted to play. At 15 the bursts of energy were rare! Gifts were exchanged brother #1 left. We had dinner. Brother #2 left. Hubbie arrived, more gifts were opened.

 

Image

 

As everyone left that day we said goodbye to our dog. No-one knew exactly how long she had left. She had Arthritis of the spine and hips and her medication made her even sicker.

 

Image

 

My birthday was the 29th. She didn’t last that long.

 

I got home from work on the 28th and started getting ready for a house party my brother-in-law was having. The hubbie followed me upstairs when I went to get ready and broke the news to me that my mam had called earlier that day, she had forgotten that I was in work. The dog had a stroke the night before and had to be put to sleep. All I wanted to do was get into bed and cry but I got ready and went to the party.

Somehow I held it together all evening. I don’t know how, but I did.

The following day was my birthday. We had plans to go to my brother and his fiancee’s house for dinner. Once again, I put on my make up and held it together. I didn’t want to be there, but the champagne helped!

Even though it was the worst birthday ever, it was also great. Even if I though I didn’t want to be around people at all, if I hadn’t have been surrounded by family and friends it would have been a lot worse.

 

ImageImage

 

 

Leave a comment