ohhbetty

About time I grew up… now where to start…

Bantry February 19, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — Ooh Betty @ 22:12

I bought one of those ‘Deals’ during the summer for a weekend away in Bantry. This deal was going to kill 3 birds with one stone.

  1. It would serve as a well needed break away for the hubbie and myself.
  2. One of my best friends is from Bantry and living in Cork so I don’t get to see her half as often as I’d like so this was the perfect opportunity
  3. It was the hubbies birthday so i still got to make a fuss of him on his birthday!!

We set off after a fine lunch on a Friday afternoon, and as we only got lost twice we made it to Bantry by about 6ish. And god did I need a drink by then!

Liv had made us dinner reservations in a fish restaurant called ‘Fish Kitchen’. 90% of the menu items (excluding desserts) were fish dishes. It was divine!!! Nicest crab cakes ever!!!!

After dinner headed over the road to a little old man pub, we got some queer looks, but stayed for a while anyway.

 

The following day on Liv’s recommendation hubbie and I headed for nearby town, Glencarrif. We went late enough in the day and took a walk around the coast and through the forest. Just as we emerged from the forest the sun was setting and it was beautiful.

 

ImageImage

 

We even managed to get a picture of ourselves!

 

Image

 

That evening we headed out to Bantry with Liv again, this time to a restaurant called Tractors. This was a very meaty restaurant. The walls were decorated with diagrams of animals and which cuts of meat came from which part of the body. I had a fear that if I told them I was a vegetarian (which I’m not) they’d ask me to leave! The outside of the menu’s were old beano comics, so at least you had something to keep you entertained if you couldn’t decided what to eat.

 

Image

 

We had a wonderful dinner and a few glasses of wine. A friend of Liv’s that we had met arrived just in time to order dessert with us. This was the moment I felt like the worst wife ever!!! Liv had called ahead and arranged for hubbies dessert to have a candle in it and a general fuss to be made of him. She even brought him a pressie and a card – these are all things I had not done, I hadn’t even thought of them – a card for his birthday – who thinks of these things. obviously not me! like I said WORST WIFE EVER!!!!!!

 

The following day was the Sunday – his actual birthday. We got back to Dublin in record time and while he was distracted by the football I made him a cake, it was delicious and was the perfect end to the weekend!

 

Image

 

 

Leave a comment